Wallaroos confirm Rugby World Cup squad

Wed, 9/7/2022, 12:27 AM
Nathan Williamson
by Nathan Williamson
The Wallaroos have confirmed the squad for this year's Rugby World Cup. Photo: Getty Images

Wallaroos coach Jay Tregonning has confirmed a 32-player squad for October's Rugby World Cup in New Zealand.

Tregonning has kept a settled squad from the O'Reilly Cup, with Sevens superstar Sharni Williams the lone change.

Watch every minute of the Rugby World Cup on Stan Sport. Start your Free Sport Trial Now

Williams will play in her fourth World Cup, making her debut in 2010 before captaining the Wallaroos four years ago in Ireland in 2017.

The centre reunites with fellow Sevens convert Shannon Parry, who will once again captain the side.

"The named squad has experience and depth, and we are looking forward to showing our continued improvement at the Rugby World Cup,” Tregonning said in a statement.

“It is important to acknowledge the whole PONI squad, including those that have missed out on selection.

“Although disappointed, the players that have missed out have continued to train hard in their state-based training sessions and are committed to helping make their teammates stronger

“We wish the Sevens team all the best in their World Cup in Cape Town this weekend and we are excited to have Sharni and Bienne as part of our squad at the conclusion of the tournament.”

Bienne Terita retains her spot in the side following her double in Adelaide, joined by Waratahs flyer Maya Stewart, with Stewart pushing for an incredible return from an ACL injury suffered late last year.

Western Force flyhalf Trilleen Pomare and Reds prop Liz Patu are amongst several with World Cup experience as the team looks to improve on their best finish of third in 2010.

They will open their campaign against defending champions New Zealand on October 8 at Eden Park.

This will be followed by clashes with Six Nations sides Scotland (October 15) and Wales (October 22) at Okara Park, Whangarei.

The squad will head into camp on September 11 on the Gold Coast before travelling to New Zealand on September 24.

Every game of the 2021 Rugby World Cup will be shown live, ad-free and on-demand on Stan Sport.

Wallaroos squad for Rugby World Cup:


Liz Patu (Queensland Reds), Emily Robinson (NSW Waratahs), Bree-Anna Cheatham (Queensland Reds), Madison Schuck (Queensland Reds), Bridie O'Gorman (NSW Waratahs), Eva Karpani (NSW Waratahs)


Ashley Marsters (Melbourne Rebels), Adiana Talakai (NSW Waratahs), Tania Naden (ACT Brumbies)


Michaela Leonard (ACT Brumbies), Sera Naiqama (NSW Waratahs), Atasi Lafai (NSW Waratahs), Kaitlan Leaney (NSW Waratahs)

Back Row

Shannon Parry (captain, Queensland Reds), Emily Chancellor (NSW Waratahs), Grace Hamilton (NSW Waratahs), Grace Kemp (ACT Brumbies), Piper Duck (NSW Waratahs)


Iliseva Batibasaga (NSW Waratahs), Layne Morgan (NSW Waratahs)


Arabella McKenzie (NSW Waratahs), Trilleen Pomare (Western Force)


Siokapesi Palu (ACT Brumbies), Cecilia Smith (Queensland Reds), Georgina Friedrichs (NSW Waratahs), Sharni Williams (Aussie 7s)


Mahalia Murphy (NSW Waratahs), Ivania Wong (Queensland Reds), Bienne Terita (Aussie 7s), Maya Stewart (NSW Waratahs)


Pauline Piliae-Rasabale (NSW Waratahs), Lori Cramer (NSW Waratahs)