Oceania Sevens Challenge Women's Captains

Women's Sevens Challenge

Oceania Rugby Women's Sevens Challenge
Senior Women's Sevens Tournament

The Oceania Rugby Women's Sevens Championship is Oceania Rugby’s premier senior women's sevens rugby event and was introduced in 2008.

All Member Unions are eligible to participate.

The Oceania Rugby Women's Sevens Championship serves as qualification tournament for:

  • World Rugby Sevens Challenger Series
  • Rugby World Cup 7's
  • Olympic Games
  • Commonwealth Games

The current Oceania Rugby Women's Sevens Champions is Australia who claimed the title during the 2019 Oceania Rugby Sevens Championship in Suva, Fiji.

During the same tournament Fijiana 7's also earned qualification to the Tokyo Olympics, while Samoa and Papua New Guinea qualified for the final Olympic repecharge tournament in Monaco 2021. Papua New Guinea also qualified for the 2020 World Rugby Sevens Challenger Series.

Oceania Rugby Trina Edwards

Fixtures and Results


The Oceania region features the world's top performers in Rugby Sevens, this includes the current Olympic Gold Medalists Australia, and current Commonwealth Games, RWC Sevens and World Rugby HSBC Sevens Series Champions New Zealand.

The last edition of the Oceania Rugby Women's Sevens Championship in 2019 was the seventh edition of the event, and the fifth time the men's and women's sevens championships have been combined.

Since 2017 the combined Oceania Rugby Sevens Championships encourages equal opportunities for Women's rugby Oceania and beyond. This has seen Nauru (2018), New Caledonia (2018) and Vanuatu (2019) field a women's team at an international event.

In 2019 the Canadian and Japan SDS Women's teams became the first non-regional team to participate in the Oceania Rugby Women's Sevens Championship.

Honour Board of Oceania Rugby Sevens Championship
  • 2020: Not held - due to COVID-19
  • 2019: Australia
  • 2018: Australia
  • 2017: New Zealand
  • 2016: Australia
  • 2015: Fiji
  • 2014: New Zealand
  • 2013: Australia
  • 2012: New Zealand
  • 2011: Not held
  • 2010: Not held
  • 2009: Not held
  • 2008: Australia