Oceania Sevens Challenge Men's Captains

Men's Sevens Challenge

Oceania Rugby Men's Sevens Challenge
Senior Men's Sevens Tournament

The Oceania Rugby Men's Sevens Championship is Oceania Rugby’s premier senior men's sevens rugby event and was introduced in 2007.

All Member Unions are eligible to participate.

The Oceania Rugby Men's Sevens Championship serves as qualification tournament for:

  • World Rugby Sevens Challenger Series
  • Rugby World Cup 7's
  • Olympic Games
  • Commonwealth Games

The current Oceania Rugby Men's Sevens Champions is Australia who claimed the title during the 2019 Oceania Rugby Sevens Championship in Suva, Fiji.

During the same tournament Australia also earned qualification to the Tokyo Olympics, while Samoa and Tonga qualified for the final Olympic repecharge tournament in Monaco 2021. Tonga also qualified for the 2020 World Rugby Sevens Challenger Series.


The Oceania region features the world's top performers in Rugby Sevens, this includes the current Olympic Gold Medalists Fiji, and current Commonwealth Games, RWC Sevens and World Rugby HSBC Sevens Series Champions New Zealand.

The last edition of the Oceania Rugby Men's Sevens Championship in 2019 was the twelfth edition of the event, and the fifth time the men's and women's sevens championships have been combined.

Since 2017 the combined Oceania Rugby Sevens Championships encourages equal opportunities for Women's rugby and Deaf rugby across Oceania and beyond.

In 2019 the Japan SDS Men's team became the first non-regional team to participate in the Oceania Rugby Men's Sevens Championship.

Honour Board of Oceania Rugby Sevens Championship
  • 2020: Not held - due to COVID-19
  • 2019: Australia
  • 2018: Fiji
  • 2017: Fiji
  • 2016: Fiji
  • 2015: Australia
  • 2014: Fiji
  • 2013: Samoa
  • 2012: Australia
  • 2011: Samoa
  • 2010: Australia
  • 2009: Samoa
  • 2008: Samoa
  • 2007: Samoa