Sevens sides confirmed for Rugby World Cup Sevens

Mon, 9/5/2022, 11:56 PM
Nathan Williamson
by Nathan Williamson
The Australian Women's Sevens have stolen a thrilling final in Langford to take the World Series crown.

Australia has confirmed their squads for the Rugby World Cup Sevens in Cape Town as they look to continue a golden 2022.

Both the men's and women's teams enter as world champions following their success in the World Series.

Catch the Rugby Sevens World Cup LIVE on Kayo and BEIN Sports

Tim Walsh and the Women's side are out for a historic Triple Crown after their heroics in Birmingham.

Walsh has named a settled side for the event, with Jesse Southwell dropping out from the Commonwealth Games in the 12-player squad.

Bienne Terita, who scored a double for the Wallaroos against the Black Ferns, will travel as 13th player as they hunt for their first title since 2009.

"We prepare to perform to the best of our ability regardless of the result of the previous tournament," Walsh said in a statement.

"We are performance-based and process driven and we are heading to Cape Town with the courage to play without fear, to play our way and to represent Australia with pride.

"It has been a historical year for the Australia 7s program and capping it off with the Triple Crown would be a great way to conclude the season."

"Leading on from the Commonwealth Games, our process has remained the same," co-captain Charlotte Caslick added.

"The past few weeks of training has been heavily based on preparing and performing at our best for the World Cup.

"Getting the Triple Crown in Cape Town has been constantly spoken about throughout the group. The format for the World Cup is do or die so we know our performance needs to be at its best for every game. A total of four games to play without fear and a whole lot of courage from our team for our country."

Meanwhile, the men have named an unchanged side after they secured the title last week in Los Angeles.

Nick Malouf will once again skipper the side as they look to back up their World Series heroics, with one member set to drop out as 13th player, confirmed closer to the tournament.

“The team is eager to get back out onto the field again and experience Cape Town’s buzzing atmosphere,” Malouf said.

“We are looking forward to being a part of a huge tournament with such a rich history.”

“After the high of claiming the World Series, we’re refocusing on the World Cup,” Sevens coach John Manenti added.

“Though there are plenty of things we want to improve on, we want to keep pushing ourselves in the hope of obtaining a dream end to a breakout season.

“All the players have pulled up well after Los Angeles and are excited by the challenges ahead.”

The Women's side will open their account in the knock-out stages against Madagascar on September 9 (8:11 pm AEST).

As for John Manenti's side, they will face the winner of Hong Kong and Uruguay on September 10 (12:45 am AEST)


Charlotte Caslick (co-c)

Lily Dick

Dominique Du Toit

Demi Hayes (co-c)

Madison Ashby

Tia Hinds

Alysia Lefau-Fakaosilea

Maddison Levi

Teagan Levi

Faith Nathan

Sariah Paki

Sharni Williams

13th Player: Bienne Terita


Henry Hutchison

Billy Meakes

Corey Toole

Dietrich Roache

James Turner

Henry Paterson

Josh Turner

Matt Gonzalez

Stu Dunbar

Nick Malouf (c)

Maurice Longbottom

Nathan Lawson

Ben Marr

*13th player to be confirmed