Round 2 Of Oceania Rugby Women’s Championships Set To Continue

Mon, May 27, 2024, 6:27 AM
Oceania Rugby
by Oceania Rugby

The Oceania Rugby Women’s Championships are set to continue this week with the Papua New Guinea Cassowaries joining the national squads of Samoa, Fiji, and Tonga for the second round of matches.

All four national teams are now on ground in Brisbane preparing for what will be an exciting continuation for the 2024 Championships.

The second match scheduled for Round 1 between Manusina XV and the PNG Cassowaries was cancelled due to issues preventing the team from departing Port Moresby.

The logistical issues facing the team have now been resolved with Oceania Rugby and World Rugby coordinating the necessary measures of support to ensure that the Cassowaries could take part in the remaining rounds of competition.

The Fijiana currently leads the Competition Table with 5 points following their bonus point win in Round 1 against Lofa XV. Samoa Manusina XV is in second place after receiving maximum points (5) for the default victory over the Cassowaries who were unable to take part.

Tonga holds third place after their first game defeat at the hands of Fijiana XV, whilst the Cassowaries sit in fourth place.

Fijiana XV face the Cassowaries in what will be a major test for the Papua New Guinea national team. Samoa will then take on Tonga in the traditional rivalry between the Polynesian nations. Fiji will aim to continue their winning streak, while Tonga will look to bounce back and make a strong statement against 2023 champions Manusina Samoa.

The second-round matches are scheduled as follows on Wednesday 29 May at the Sunny Bank RFC:

• 5:30pm: Fijiana XV vs. Papua New Guinea Cassowaries

• 7:00pm: Manusina XV vs. Lofa XV

World Cup Qualifiers

The 2024 competition is even more significant than previous years, as teams compete for a spot in the 2025 Women’s Rugby World Cup in England.

The winner of the 2024 Oceania Rugby Women’s Championship will also secure one of the two (2) spots available for Oceania in the WXV 3 Division.

The runner up of the Oceania Rugby Women’s Championship will secure the second spot available for Oceania in the WXV 3 Division and will contest the final five (5) spots available from the 2024 WXV 2 – 3 Competition for qualification to the 2025 Rugby World Cup (highest 5 placed non – qualified teams across WXV 2 – 3).

The appropriate amendments have been made to the Terms of Participation to ensure teams would not be disadvantaged.