New Zealand team announcement for Rugby World Cup 2021

Wed, Oct 5, 2022, 10:28 PM
Oceania Rugby
by Oceania Rugby

New Zealand director of rugby Wayne Smith has named his team for the Rugby World Cup 2021 Pool A match against Australia at Eden Park on 8 October.

  1. Phillipa Love
  2. Luka Connor
  3. Amy Rule
  4. Joanah Ngan-Woo
  5. Chelsea Bremner
  6. Charmaine McMenamin
  7. Sarah Hirini
  8. Liana Mikaele-Tu’u
  9. Kendra Cocksedge
  10. Ruahei Demant (captain)
  11. Portia Woodman
  12. Amy du Plessis
  13. Stacey Fluhler
  14. Ruby Tui
  15. Renee Holmes
  16. Georgia Ponsonby
  17. Awhina Tangen-Wainohu
  18. Santo Taumata
  19. Maiakawanakaulani Roos
  20. Kendra Reynolds
  21. Arihiana Marino-Tauhinu
  22. Hazel Tubic
  23. Sylvia Brunt

  • This is the fourth time that New Zealand will face Australia in 2022 with the Black Ferns having won all three so far to maintain their perfect record against the Wallaroos
  • Black Ferns Sevens captain Sarah Hirini will play her first test for New Zealand since the RWC 2017 final in Ireland
  • Hirini, Portia Woodman and Stacey Fluhler won the silver medal at Rugby World Cup Sevens 2022 in South Africa last month
  • The starting line-up features four of New Zealand Tokyo 2020 Olympic gold medallists in flanker Hirini, centre Fluhler and wingers Woodman and Ruby Tui
  • Centre Amy du Plessis will start at inside centre for the first time
  • Six RWC 2017 winners are named in the squad in flanker Charmaine McMenamin, Hirini, scrum-half Kendra Cocksedge, Woodman, Fluhler and replacement Hazel Tubic
  • The remaining 17 players in the match-day squad will all be making their Rugby World Cup debuts against Australia