New Zealand celebrate winning 2022 Oceania Rugby U20 Championship (photo: Pete Wallis)

U20 Championship

Oceania Rugby U20 Championship
Age Grade Men's XV Tournament

The Oceania Rugby U20 Championship was introduced in 2015 as a key high performance competition designed to provide high level competition preparation for our regional teams ahead of the annual World Rugby U20 Championship.

Teams involved in the World Rugby U20 Championship, both regional and non-regional are eligible to participate in the Oceania Rugby U20 Championship.

Reigning champions and host Australia to welcome Fiji, New Zealand and for the first time Argentina to the iconic Sunshine Coast for the 2022 event.

It will be the first time in two years any of the regional under 20 teams have met and New Zealand, 5-time champions, will be looking to reclaim the title they lost to Australia in 2019 while Fiji and Argentina will be hoping to cause an upset and claim the title for the first time.

The Oceania Rugby U20 Championship is supported by the Sunshine Coast Council and this project received grant funding from the Australian Government.


The Oceania Rugby U20 Championship was held at Bond University (2015 -2019) and hosted by Rugby Australia since its inception. In 2022 the event moved to the Sunshine Coast Stadium and is supported by the Sunshine Coast Council.

Australia and New Zealand have featured in each instalment of the Championship and have joined by Samoa, Fiji, Japan and Tonga over the past four years.

The Oceania Rugby U20 Championship is traditionally held during April - May ahead of the World Rugby U20 Championship in June.

Honour Board of Oceania Rugby U20 Championship
  • 2022:
  • 2021: Not held - due to COVID-19
  • 2020: Not held - due to COVID-19
  • 2019: Australia
  • 2018: New Zealand
  • 2017: New Zealand
  • 2016: New Zealand
  • 2015: New Zealand